Transforma logo
Subscribe Login

Harnessing disruptive technologies for competitive advantage

JUL 23, 2020 | Jim Morrish
 
region: ALL sector: ALL technology: ALL

In our forthcoming webinar ‘ 7 ways to harness AI, IoT and other disruptive technologies for competitive advantage’ , we will discuss how enterprises can best react to the challenges of ever-accelerating technology disruption.

As discussed elsewhere in this blog, and in the wider internet: there is a lot of diversity in IoT and digital transformation. A related concept that doesn’t get so much airtime is that the challenges associated with deploying different digital solutions can vary widely. This is a concept that we will discuss in more detail on the webinar, but, for now, this blog provides a quick preview.

Consider two IoT solutions, as follows:

  • A connected tractor, with real time location monitoring and automatic hands-free steering and usage data that is uploaded to the tractor OEM’s cloud services.
  • A smart metering solution, deployed to tens of millions of households and allowing for real time monitoring of consumption and accurate customer billing.

Both of these solutions are relatively complex, in comparison to most IoT and digital transformation projects, but the dimensions of complexity of the two projects differ greatly. The connected tractor solution is characterised by particular complexity in terms of human machine interface, artificial intelligence, data sharing and overall functional complexity. Meanwhile the smart metering solution is characterised by particular complexity in terms of the expected solution lifetime, the project environment, device count, challenges of connectivity to remote devices and business operations impact. In fact, as illustrated in the figure below, the profiles of complexity of these two projects are almost completely the inverse of each other.

Smart Tractor vs Smart Metering.jpg.png

As a result of this diversity in complexity (and the challenges) associated with project deployment, the two projects will need to be supported through solution design and deployment phases by project teams with quite different skill sets. The connected tractor solution team profile should emphasis skills in user interface, agriculture, edge computing, artificial intelligence and channel and relationship management. Meanwhile, the smart metering team profile should emphasise skills in procurement, enterprise systems change management, programme management, field force management, and so on.

This is one of the seven ways that end users can better harness new and emerging technologies that we will discuss in our webinar: that the skill sets represented in solution project teams should be matched to the solution being developed and deployed. This is probably no significant surprise to anyone who has participated in any number of technical developments, however it is another dimension to the observation that the market for digital transformation is fragmented: this fragmentation is not just superficial, rather it must be reflected at many levels within an organisatio

To learn more about the issues raised in this blog post, and many more great advice on how to harness new technologies for competitive advantage, join our webinar on the 30th July.

The webinar will run as two sessions:

Session 1: 09.00 UK / 10.00 Europe / 16.00 Beijing / 17.00 Tokyo – Register

Session 2: 08.00 San Francisco / 11.00 New York / 16.00 UK / 17.00 Europe – Register

Webinar_7_IoT_AI_disruptive.jpg

2020

2019